Speechless

Addie enjoying the outdoors!

That’s what we are this afternoon… speechless!

We had Addie’s blood tested again today – 2 months since the last test.  Here are her results by month:

Test July, 2011 Sept, 2011 Dec, 2011 Jan, 2012 March, 2012 Normal Levels
ALT 93 129 190 224 93 < 120
ALP 93 119 200 220 <140
Glucose 94 98 87 89 53 75 – 125
Protien 6.9 6.3 7.2 6.5 5.5 – 7.6
Creatinine 1.7 1.4 1.5 1.9 1.1 .4 – 1.4

We don’t have comps for ALP or Protein, but her ALT, Glucose, AND Creatinine all went down.  WAY DOWN!!  They are not perfect, but they are astonishing to say the least as they had been trending very rapidly in the upward direction. We had been very concerned as they pointed to either liver and/or kidney failure.

So… the question we asked was why the drop?  There really were only 2 things that have changed in the past 60 days:

  • We added the Chinese herb Shu Gan to her diet.
  • We moved to Costa Rica.

Which one caused the positive effect?  We don’t know.  But we plan on staying in Costa Rica for a while, and we will definitely be ordering more Shu Gan!

5 thoughts on “Speechless

  1. I’ve just spent the past couple of hours reading Addie’s story from start to finish. So much of her story is sadly familiar. Except for the Neoplasine.

    One thing you don’t credit for her remarkable success is the unwavering dedication you’ve put into her continued care. You’ve done all the right things- research, assembling a team, nutritional awareness, herbal support, proper monitoring and hyper vigilence. And for that you’ve been rewarded with the greatest of gifts- more time.

    Thank you for posting this journey. It’s instructional, inspirational and will give hope to others facing a seemingly hopeless diagnosis. I’ll be happy to help spread the word by linking to your blog.

    Heres hoping you’ll be celebrating another birthday for Addie!

    • Thank you so much for your wonderful comments.

      I truly appreciate your linking to her blog, the more exposure she can get, the more help we can provide to other pups.

      Thanks again!

  2. I just found your blog and read the whole thing! 6 days ago my dog had his spleen rupture and emergency surgery.. we waited all weekend for the results and Monday they came back as cancer, they never told me what kind but through my research I am pretty sure its the same as Addies. I would like to e-mail you but don’t see a place to contact. I hope Addie is still doing well as I see its been a few months without an update. My dog came out of surgery with his back 2 legs paralyzed, another struggle to the mix. I go tomorrow (Wednesday) to the Holistic Vet I am hoping for some great results as my dog seems to be pretty depressed. Thanks for your blog it has lifted me up and given me high hopes!

Leave a comment